Charleston Mayoral Race Moves to Run-Off Between Stavrinakis and Tecklenburg



It's been 40 years since Charleston elected a new a mayor, so it's fitting an extra two weeks will be needed to find out who the city's new leader will be.

The Holy City's historic mayoral election ended in a run-off on Tuesday as no candidate secured the necessary percentage of votes to be elected (50%). The top two vote-getters - John Tecklenburg and Leon Stavrinakis  - will square off on Tuesday, November 17th to see who will become Charleston's next mayor.

According to multiple news outlets, Tecklenburg finished in first with nearly 36% of the vote, while Stavrinakis was ever-so-slightly behind at nearly 35%. Ginny Deerin, who was considered by many to be a front runner, finished in third place with about 17% of the vote

Here's a look at the final vote totals:



John Tecklenburg: 8,930 (36%)
Leon Stavrinakis: 8,666 (35%)
Ginny Deerin: 4,377 (17%)
William Dudley Gregorie: 1,417 (6%)
Maurice Washington: 1,386 (6%)
Toby Smith: 266 (1%)

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Holy City Sinner