Local Musicians Release "Holy Corona! A Compilation in Support of Holy City Musicians"

On Monday, a group of local musicians came together to release Holy Corona! A Compilation in Support of Holy City Musicians. The effort was spearheaded by violinist James Anderson. The album is available on Bandcamp at https://holycoronachs.bandcamp.com/releases for $10, and 100% of proceeds will be dispersed among the featured performers.

Holy Corona! is a genre-spanning record that features songs by the performers who soundtrack this community. Charleston's gigging musicians have been hit hard by the economic impact of COVID-19 outbreak. Between bar and restaurant closures and event cancellations, musicians who might play a dozen gigs weekly in order to support themselves and their families have watched their spring schedules disappear.

According to Anderson, who performs extensively with a number of local groups including Staggers & Jags and Red Cedar Review, the compilation serves multiple purposes.

"Charleston has an amazing music scene," Anderson said. "There are truly some world class players in this town. We hope Holy Corona! will provide a financial relief, but also celebrate our community and generate excitement for a day that we can all go back out and enjoy live music."

Track List:

1. Malin Wagnon - "Off the Wall"
2. Kozelski - "Clandestine Sam"
3. The Hungry Monks - "Superior Crust"
4. Staggers & Jags - "Black Train"
5. GC & The Cuban Cowboys - "Cha Cha Charleston"
6. Dan Patrick - "Another Day"
7. Lee Barbour - "Angels Makin Angels"
8. Red Cedar Review - "The Highway"
9. Green Levels - "Brothers and Sisters"
10. Waterloo Trio - "Mountain Time"

Album art (above right) by G Sharp Design, LLC.

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Holy City Sinner