South Carolina-based Podcast to Release Compilation Album Featuring Covers By Local, National Acts

On May 22nd, Comfort Monk, a South Carolina-based podcast featuring interviews with musicians and other artists, will release a tribute compilation featuring the music of their first 15 guests, including Sylvan Esso, The Minutemen, The Replacements, Black Flag, and more. The podcast is hosted by Dylan Dickerson and Eddie Newman.
Not only does the compilation feature South Carolina musicians contributing cover songs, but several past guests of the show, including Mike Watt of Minutemen/Stooges, Eric Slick of Dr. Dog, Ray Barbee, and Peter Alvanos of Elf Power, also provided reworkings of other guests' songs.
The compilation, entitled "Gratitude Volume One" is being released as a free stream via Spotify and bandcamp (comfortmonk.bandcamp.com). The tracklist can be found below:
1. Ray Barbee, Rachel Ann Rainwater & Chuck Treece - Taking Away the Fire (Dos)
2. Dear Blanca - Unsatisfied (The Replacements)
3. Marshall Brown - Evergreen (Eric Slick)
4. King Vulture - Solid Gold (Fanny)
5. Eric Slick - Coffee (Sylvan Esso)
6. Guitar Test - Surgery (Elf Power/Robyn Hitchcock)
7. Mike Watt + the Secondmen - Fully Persuaded (Ray Barbee)
8. B-Side - O My Soul (Big Star)
9. Numbtongue - Harvest (Vundabar)
10. Elonzo Wesley - Cry, Cry (Grant-Lee Phillips)
11. E. Newman - Honeybird (Andras)
12. Fabulous Bird - Can’t Hardly Wait (Replacements)
13. Soggy Origami - It’s All Up to You (Black Flag)
14. Secret Guest - History Lesson/Big Lounge Scene/History Lesson Pt. 2 (Minutemen)
15. Jerome - Jonah (Wussy)

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Holy City Sinner