Cities, Counties Announce Curfews for Monday Night

Several area cities and towns will once again be under curfew beginning on Monday night. Curfews began on Saturday night after several downtown businesses were vandalized and/or robbed.

Here's a rundown of tonight's curfews:

  • Berkeley County
    • Council voted to declare a state of emergency and will implement a curfew from 8 pm on Monday to 6 am Tuesday
  • Charleston County
    • Declared a State of Emergency for the rest of the week
    • Curfew is from 6 pm Monday until 6 am on Tuesday.
      • County leaders will meet again Tuesday night and consider a curfew
      • Violators could be fined up to $500 or receive a 30 day jail sentence
  • City of Charleston
    • The peninsula's curfew is from 6 pm tonight to 6 am Tuesday.
    • The boundaries of the curfew will be modified as necessary to include areas of the city covered by any countywide curfews in Charleston and Berkeley counties.
    • Citizens on Daniel Island in Berkeley County are also advised that Berkeley County has already called a separate curfew beginning at 8 p.m. tonight
  • Dorchester County
    • Dorchester County Council issued a State of Emergency in Dorchester County. The State of Emergency will remain in place until rescinded by County Council.
    • Effective until further notice, a nightly curfew has been issued for Unincorporated Dorchester County between the hours of 6 pm and 6 am. The curfew does not apply to residents and business owners traveling to or from work.
  • City of North Charleston
    • Curfew has been issued from Monday, June 1st at 6 pm until Tuesday, June 2nd at 6 am.
  • Town of Summerville
    • Curfew is from 6 pm Monday until 6 am on Tuesday

Also of note, CARTA will stop their services at 6 pm tonight.


Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Holy City Sinner