Gibbes Museum’s Society 1858 Announces $10,000 Prize for Contemporary Southern Art

Press Release

The Gibbes Museum of Art announced the 2020 1858 Prize for Contemporary Southern Art. Each year, the 1858 Prize is presented by Society 1858, a member auxiliary group of the Gibbes Museum of Art comprised of young professionals. Presented annually, the $10,000 cash prize is awarded to one artist whose work demonstrates the highest level of artistic achievement in any media, while contributing to a new understanding of art in the South.

Past winners include Donté K. Hayes (2019), Leo Twiggs (2018), Bo Bartlett (2017), Alicia Henry (2016), Deborah Luster (2015), Sonya Clark (2014), John Westmark (2012), Patrick Dougherty (2011), and Radcliffe Bailey (2010). Submissions for 2020 will be accepted online at www.1858prize.org from September 1 - October 11, 2020.

“We have seen past 1858 prize winners go on to receive many accolades and are thrilled to be announcing the return of this esteemed prize,” says Anne Siegfried, President of Society 1858. “Through this award we are able to help validate the works of a Southern artist and support their passion for the arts, which is needed now more than ever.”

Artists from Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, and Virginia are eligible to apply. All submissions are thoughtfully reviewed by a panel of visual arts professionals, Society 1858 representatives, and Gibbes Museum of Art staff members.

Artists Must Submit:

  • Completed registration form
  • Brief artist statement (150 words or less)
  • Resume or CV
  • Portfolio of work (up to 10 images) including title, date, medium, and dimensions for each work
  • $25 non-refundable entry fee
  • Submit at www.1858prize.org
  • For general questions about the 1858 Prize, please contact the Gibbes Museum of Art at [email protected]
  • For technical support while submitting your application, please contact SlideRoom at [email protected]

Finalists will be announced in November and the winner will be announced in December on the 1858 Prize website and via press release.

Leave a reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Holy City Sinner